top of page

Fri, 16 June

|

Better Read Than Dead

Orphia and Eurydicius: Elyse John in-conversation with Shelley Parker-Chan

Join us with Elyse John to celebrate the release of Orphia and Eurydicius Elyse will be joined by Shelley Parker-Chan.

Registration is closed
See other events
Orphia and Eurydicius: Elyse John in-conversation with Shelley Parker-Chan
Orphia and Eurydicius: Elyse John in-conversation with Shelley Parker-Chan

Time & Location

16 June 2023, 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

Better Read Than Dead, 265 King St, Newtown NSW 2042, Australia

Guests

About The Event

The stunning, gender-flipped novel about love, creativity and the power of speaking out, which has the biggest names in Australian literature swooning with praise - perfect for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker.

'Like all enchanted books, the story of Elyse Johns' Orphia and Eurydicius is vivid, consuming, potent, and poetic. This gender-flipping, feminist retelling is not just a love story for the ages, but a moving, magical ode to the power of using our voices, and of being who we are in the world.' HOLLY RINGLAND, author of The Seven Skins of Esther Wilding

'As I read, I imagined the muses beside Elyse John, focusing her mind and guiding her hand. The writing is poetic and evocative, and the story will thrill readers who have long suspected something is missing from the classics of Greek myth.' PIP WILLIAMS, author of The Bookbinder of Jericho

Elyse John is a writer and a poet. She studied literature, writing and French at university, completing a PhD. Her poetry nominations include the Pushcart Prize and several major Australian prizes. She has published a collection of poetry and her poems feature in journals in Australia, Europe, and Japan. Inspired by her late brother, she creates work in his memory. She lives in Melbourne, Australia.

Shelley Parker-Chan is an Asian-Australian former international development adviser who worked on human rights, gender equality and LGBTQ rights in Southeast Asia. Their debut historical fantasy novel She Who Became the Sun was a #1 Sunday Times bestseller and has been translated into 12 languages. Parker-Chan is a winner of the Astounding Award, and the British Fantasy Awards for Best Fantasy Novel and Best Newcomer. They have also been a finalist for the Lambda, Locus, Aurealis, Ditmar, and British Book Awards. They live in Melbourne, Australia.

Tickets

  • Event Ticket

    $0.00
  • Event + Book

    This ticket includes a copy of Orphia and Eurydicius

    $32.99

Total

$0.00

Share Event

bottom of page