Wed, Feb 05 | The Vanguard

Luke Arnold - The Last Smile in Sunder City

Join us as we celebrate the release of Luke Arnold's novel, The Last Smile in Sunder City, a brilliantly voiced contemporary fantasy for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Andrew Caldecott, or Terry Pratchett's Discworld series. Luke is in-conversation with Toby Schmitz.
SOLD OUT!

Time & Location

Feb 05, 2020, 6:30 PM – 8:00 PM
The Vanguard, 42 King St, Newtown NSW 2042, Australia

About The Event

Join us as we celebrate the release of Luke Arnold's debut novel, The Last Smile in Sunder City, a brilliantly voiced contemporary fantasy for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Andrew Caldecott, or Terry Pratchett's Discworld series. 

Luke is in-conversation with Toby Schmitz. 

Tickets are $7 each - or just $4 with a combined pre-order of Luke's book! 

About the Book

Fetch Phillips fought on the wrong side of a war between humans and magical creatures, and his actions helped to drain the world of enchantment. Now he works on the streets of Sunder City, taking what odd jobs he can while trying to help those whose lives he ruined. 

His first case is to find a missing teacher. Professor Rye is a four-hundred-year-old vampire with a heart of gold in a husk of a body. In a world without magic, most vamps have already crumbled into dust, but Fetch is happy to go looking for some dirt with pointed teeth if it gets him his drinking money. Then, when a young siren disappears, Fetch finds out that this dark world still hides some monsters - and he'd better clean up his act before they come into the light..

Praise

"The first instalment of an effortlessly readable series that could be the illegitimate love child of Terry Pratchett and Dashiell Hammett"  - Kirkus Reviews.    

"[A] standout debut . . . winningly combining the grit of Chinatown with the quirky charm of Harry Potter, this series opener is sure to have readers coming back for more"  - Publishers Weekly

About the Author

Luke Arnold was born in Australia and has spent the last decade acting his way around the world, playing iconic roles such as Long John Silver in the Emmy-winning Black Sails and his award-winning turn as Michael Hutchence in the INXS mini-series Never Tear Us Apart

When he isn't performing, Luke is a screenwriter, director, novelist and ambassador for Save the Children Australia. The Last Smile in Sunder City is his debut novel.

A note on the venue

The Vanguard is strictly adults only.

Tickets
Price
Quantity
Total
  • Event Ticket
    $7
    $7
    0
    $0
  • Event Ticket + Book
    $26.99
    $26.99
    0
    $0
Total$0

Share This Event

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Receive weekly updates about new books, upcoming events, and giveaways

© 2018 by Better Read Pty Ltd

Proudly created with Wix.com